Getting the basics

The biggest drawback of using commercial, as opposed to Open Source, software is the bureaucracy associated with getting licenses. It’s hard to get a definitive answer as to whether or not our MSDN subscription covers this sort of use. Some say it does, some say it doesn’t. So, after a day installing all of the Visual Studio express editions, I finally decided to bite the bullet and go with Visual Studio Beta2 and .NET 3. I guess we should be at the cutting edge, so I’ve set off the massive 3GB download. After some searching, it also seems like this might be the best way of getting Windows Workflow Foundation working.

A couple of words about the basic plumbing for what I want to do. I’m going to do things in as standard a way as possible, using all of the Windows Security etc. I figure that this will be the best way of staying compatible with new versions of the development software and libraries. I’m going to use Web Services (as opposed to .net remoting) for all of the communication between components, including those running on the same machine. This should let me move stuff around relatively easily as things progress. I am going to use the .NET version of Hibernate for as much of the database storage as I can. The reason for this is that life is too short for SQL and I’ve used the Java version of this and it’s great!

The next step, once all of the development tools are installed and running will be to make sure I can use of the libraries that I have got in mind. Then it will be time to look at the CAIRN and pick the features that I’m going to implement.

Leave a Reply

